2019 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

By | August 29, 2018

The 2019 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 is the 13th round and the 25th race of the Supercars Series season. It’s also the second and penultimate round of the Pirtek Enduro Cup, which also encompasses the Sandown 500 and the Gold Coast 600 events.

2018 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

With another two rounds to go before the biggest race of the Supercars’ season, Kiwi driver Scott McLaughlin leads the standings, sitting at 2321 points. Fellow Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen sits second in the points table, the 2015 champion currently lying 131 points behind McLaughlin on 2190 points. Defending champion and seven-time championship winner Jamie Whincup lies third, 450 points adrift, on 1870. Reigning Bathurst 1000 winner David Reynolds is 4th in the standings ahead of Craig Lowndes, the three-time champion currently leading all active drivers with six wins at the Mountain.

Last year’s edition of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 saw David Reynolds and Luke Youlden become first time winners at the Mountain. Among the active drivers, Lowndes’ co-driver for the event, Steven Richards, ties Jamie Whincup for wins at the Bathurst 1000 with four. 2007 champion Garth Tander has won the race three-times, while Will Davison and 2006 champion Rick Kelly both hold two wins. The 2018 edition will also feature previous winners Chaz Mostert, Paul Drumbrell, Nick Percat, Jason Bright and Jonathon Webb.

The event starts on Thursday, October 4, and will run for four days. Qualifying happens on Friday, October 5, while the top-10 shootout for the pole-position takes place on Saturday, October 6. The 2018 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000’s date is Sunday, October 7.

Race broadcast is available on Australian TV channels Network 10 and Fox Sports, while online streaming is available on Foxtel for Australian viewers and SkyGo for New Zealand. Supercars’ official streaming service, SuperView, is available for international viewers only, while American website MotorTrend On Demand will also stream the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *